Tie Rod and Drag Link hitting each other

Tie Rod and Drag Link hitting each other

txag88

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1978 CJ-5 258 I6 Stock, trans, tcase, and diffs
2012 Ford F150 Lariat 4WD 3.5L Ecoboost
I'm very new to the Jeep world, and I've never really tinkered with any steering components at all. I'm in a 1978 CJ5, and every time I turn the wheel more than 60% left or right I hear a popping noise. After closer inspection of all the linkage up front, I noticed some scars on the tie rod from the drag link adjustment pieces digging into it as they pass each other. I'm not sure about the lift. It looks stock. Has 31"s. They seem to toe in a little, and the steering is loose as would be expected on a 78 with 95k miles that has probably never really been tinkered with. Any advice? Anybody seen this issue before?

If true that you have no lift, I'm thinking the previous owner masked/repaired/corrected other suspension issues by adding the drag link. Original springs are so flat don't really need a drag link.

When you adjust the steering linkage the adjustment sleeve may interfere. You can move the clamps on the adjustment sleeve so they clear.
images.ashx

Check out this thread for your steering: http://www.jeep-cj.com/forums/f99/troubleshooting-correcting-your-steering-4106/

just a thought, but does he maybe have the tie rod and the drag link in the opposite holes of the steering arm? Not sure if that's possible. The drag link should be in the front hole. And your sure the tie rod or drag link aren't bent slightly?