Lockng Hubs First time jeeper question

Lockng Hubs First time jeeper question

Ctknorr

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'74 CJ5, 258, 4 speed
Let me start with thanks to the two guys I know will offer some help/insight.

So my old fords had automatic 4wd pushbutton on the dash and no manual locking hubs.

Q1. Does locking the hubs mean thats the only way to get the front end to pull, or does that mean that actually locking them in makes it full time with no slip? Q2. Did i ask that correct?

Q3. What kinds of noises should I expect from the hubs and what would be a signal that i may have a problem?

Q4. Is there a best practices for when and or how to use?

I have a 74 CJ 5 inline six 4 speed with what I think is a Dana 20. Searching it out to confirm for sure.

CK

I am not an expert, but here is my response.

You will need to get out and turn the knobs on the hubs if you want the front wheels to pull at all (be in 4wd). If you do not, when you shift the transfer case lever, it will pit power to the front differential and will turn the axle, but the wheels will not be "locked" to the axle and will still be free to roll or not.

I only get out and lock mine when I know I need 4wd. Like when stuck in snow, or as I start out on a trail. My father spent time in Iceland and would lock his at the start of winter. That way, when he wanted 4wd, he only needed to shift the t-case lever. But that was a lot of winter driving. I don't have that situation. Does it hurt to leave the hubs locked and drive in 2wd? I don't know. I have heard arguments for both sides.

As for noise and wear, I have only had experiences with bearings going bad or getting loose. So I can't comment on the actual locking hubs having problems. But I am looking into upgraded locking hubs right now.