Pa Dirt

Pa Dirt

CJAKE7

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
Had: 90 Wrangler, 85 CJ7, 51 Willys pickup, 94 Cherokee Sport
Have: 85 CJ7
Pa Dirt, this idea has been formulating in my mind for a while now. What would it be like to cross Pennsylvania using as little paved roads as possible? Originally, the idea started with going from the Mason Dixon line to the New York boarder. As I studied many different maps, I realized that a trip from the Delaware River to the Ohio line would allow greater usage of dirt roads (and it would be a longer trip!).
In a few weeks, I will begin the first “leg” of my journey. I am a family guy and I will be doing this solo so I will not be doing it all at one shot. If I spread it out, I think I will enjoy it more and learn things more as I go. I will be doing this trip in my 85’ CJ7 that I have owned for about 4 years. I have been upgrading it and improving it to make it reliable enough to do a trip like this. I’m more of a simplistic kind of guy. The trip will be with a soft top only. No doors and all sides zipped out. I sleep in a hammock(when I am by myself) and try to use what I have to get the job done.

Well if your trip takes you thru central Pa. (Mifflin, Snyder, Huntingdon counties) let me know and I could map you out that area thru the mountains that would keep you on dirt roads.

Thanks for the offer. I think generally I will be staying further north(less people/towns bigger woods across the whole state. I have the route mapped out so far from Stalker to Ralston. This will be the portion that I will be starting with.

This is more what I'm outfitting my Scrambler for. Can't wait to follow along.:chug: I'm in the Lehigh Valley area if needed. I'll pm you my number. I think you may have been by my place once.

I grew up in Warren County PA and remember being able to cover Forrest, Warren and most of Erie counties on dirt roads. But, I haven't lived there since I joined the Navy 17 years ago...