New AMC 360 Installed - couple questions

New AMC 360 Installed - couple questions

JR74CJ5

Missing-Presumed Wheeling
Lifetime Supporter
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1974 CJ5 ~ Fresh built AMC 360 - SM420 - D20 - D30F with upgraded 30 spline shafts and knuckles & D44R - 4.27 Gears - ARB Lockers F/R - All chrome molly axles - on 33's - YJ 4" Lift Spring Conversion
Hi all,

So finally got the 360 finished up and in. She's running good and strong.

Two concerns - let me know your thoughts on these all. Like to bounce around some ideas...

1 - Still running a bit on the hot side. I have a new flex fan, 180 degree thermostat, new cooling hoses and "shouldn't" be anything wrong with the radiator. Now I'm not running a shroud, but never have and never had any problems with the temp... I am running the temp sensor that came in the new intake still, so not positive on accuracy yet. Next to check. Main question - is it normal for a fresh rebuild to run a little hotter than normal during break in? I assume with stuff starting to "clearance" itself out in there and piston rings seating it would be a little more friction than the old tired 304 had... It's running about 220 - 225 degrees F.

2 - At idle, when I advance timing to 12 degrees per the DUI HEI unit instructions, the engine "stumbles" intermittently... Not really a miss at all, but hard to explain. Shakes a second like a miss would, but thermo temp reading confirms at least not a constant miss, and at higher RPM, or increased timing advance it gets better. I think I have it set at 14 degrees advance @ idle. I'm slightly worried this is too much, though I know some high performance engines run much more than that...

Random mentions for both: