Build Thread 1986 CJ-7 Renegade : Memories

Build Thread 1986 CJ-7 Renegade : Memories

Scorzany

Active Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
86 CJ7 Renegade, 4.2L, 4 speed manual, T177 transmission, D300 transfer, D44 rear diff, power steering, no A/C, manual brakes. Carter BBD w/o Stepper.
Hello.

First a little history if you will indulge me.

My uncle bought a brand new brown CJ5 back in the 70s. He still drove it until he died at 80 years old. He would drive it every now and then to visit us. A cool guy that I wish I knew better but he lived far away. Anytime I saw a CJ I thought of my uncle. Anyway, this was my first real experience with a Jeep CJ when I was a boy.

Some years later I graduated high school in 1985. Let's just say I went to school with some rich boys that got brand new Jeep CJs during high school and for graduation. Boy was I jealous! So cool!!

Next was College. Again I went to college with some rich boys who had Jeep CJs and again I was so jealous. So cool!! They looked so fun! I live in the deep South so we have lots of top down weather all year and I saw them all during college driving around (even though the last year they made CJs was 86). Wearing Raybans, Duck Head pants, Levi Edition blue jean jackets, and Polo green bottle cologne. This was the mid 80s mind you LOL. And talk about a chick magnet! I don't need to really tell you guys that do I?

Anyway, time goes by and life goes on right? Never got one and kinda forgot about them and only being reminded of them when my uncle drove his CJ5 for visits.