Build Thread IAFFCJ Beginning of my build (Pic Heavy)

Build Thread IAFFCJ Beginning of my build (Pic Heavy)

IAFFCJ

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'86 CJ7
Well it has to start somewhere. Began as a clutch replacement and grew into a fight to pass emissions. Having a year until I can register the CJ as an antique in VA I decided to tear it apart and repair upgrade to the point I can wheel the snot out of it as well as run it back and forth to work when it is nice.

The plan
- Repair and paint frame
- Repair and paint body
- Build cage
- Rebuild engine
- clock Dana 300
- New belly skid
- Regear (4.88 I am thinking)
- 4.5" Extream duty lift
- Lock rear Dana 44

That is the jist of it with a few other items through in if the finaces hold up. Like upgrade to 44 front, and posible transmission upgrade. As this is my first attempt at a prodject like this I am sure it will take longer than planned but it has started anyway.

Here is what I got done today.
DSCN0286.png
Interior pulled
DSCN0285.png
Windshield frame off
DSCN0297.png
Front clip off

Here is some of the rust to be repaired
DSCN0293.png
DSCN0294.png

And I have one question so far. What is this??
DSCN0307.png

Sounds like a great plan! If that is all the rust you have then that isn't too bad at all.

I'm not familiar with that year CJ, so I'll have to let someone else chime in on what the last pic is - but I will venture a guess as something to do with the emissions.

just a guess but kinda looks like some vacuum solenoid that's not a whole lot unlike Mazdas older RX series use if I'm wrong someone will enlighten us. Oh and hope you enjoy the project, Just be patient.

Got a little done today. Seemed like a lot of work and little to show for it. Heater and ducts are out, steering column and pedals, master cylinder, and roll bar. Casualty of the day one torx bit. Had to cut off 5 bolts to get the seat belts and roll bar off.

DSCN0319.jpg

DSCN0322.jpg

Some more areas that are going to need to be fixed

DSCN0320.jpg