Has anyone ever built their own frame?

Has anyone ever built their own frame?

contdevelop

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
2001 Tahoe with a new 6.0, 2008 Chevy Trailblazer.
I am doing a frame-up build and priced a new aftermarket CJ7 frame at around $17-1800. That price is ridiculous. I am a good welder and was thinking for a few hundred dollars in materials, I can build my own frame out of 4-inch heavy channel iron. Has anyone else ever done this???

The problem with a standard box frame is they rust from the inside out and if I make an open channel frame, under theory that should last longer.

Look on Pirate4x4.com and search for homeade frame.Lots of guys have done it but I dont know about 4" C channel

depending on where you are at in TX, there is a Matkins frame for sale in Tulsa, OK on craigslist that might be worth the drive. Last I saw he wanted $1000 for it. I believe its brand new, too!

welding up a frame is not a big issue, it is the mandrel bending that would be a problem for those without the equipment. If you are a good welded, see if any of the vendors would sell a knock down frame, would be both easier to ship and cost much less in labor.
Just a thought, plus it seems on of the guys from up north sells just the side rails

Thanks for the feedback. I plan to go talk with a guy who has a professional fab shop and see if he can bend channel iron. I really want to use the open channel instead of square tubing. Is it just me or does $1700 seem like alot for a frame. I couldnt find that matkins frame in Tulsa, but thats my luck anyway. I missed out on a new CJ7 fiberglass body by Houston for $650 yesterday.

I found the ad for ya. I was wrong about the price, tho. :( He used to have a pic of it, but I guess he took it out.
cj7 on craigslist

These sell for $2500 I think, and he's been trying to sell it for a while. Maybe he will go down in price a little.

OH just my thoughts ( OH NO Not again! )about the C-channel.