Air Tool Advice

Air Tool Advice

Hedgehog

Always Off-Roading Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
-1975 Jeep CJ5, 360 V8, Headers, Duel Exhaust,T15 transmission, D-20 Transfer case, Twin Stick Conversion, Warn 8274 Winch
-1951 Willys Wagon, 4 cylinder, "F" head, little rust, very close to stock
I am a complete Air Tool Rookie, what I know about air tools:

1 - You need a decent air compressor to run them. I've got that.

2 - They are really cool to have.

3 - AAhhhhh well, that's about it.....

I need a couple tools and need advice from someone that knows, advice like what brands or models are decent? What to look for when buying tools. Where to get them at a decent price? Are the Harbor Freight tools worth buying? What do you think of Pawn shop tools?

Starting out, it doesn't hurt to buy at Harbor Freight, if your just going to lightly use your tools. If I was really going to work them for a living, I'd buy the best I don't use my impact, or air rachet, but I use my air board, DA sander, and small cut off tool more. I have just bought a blasting cabinet from harbor freight, that I use all the time to clean up parts to repaint, love it!, but the light in it isn't worth :dung:. I already want a bigger cabinet. The blasting cabinet is turning out to be one of the best shop tools I ever bought. I bought a cheap air drill years ago for using a wire wheel on it to clean up parts, it's been worked to death, and still going strong.

Hedge, I was in the same boat awhile back. The HF cabinet was the reason i finally purchased it and well the cabinet has been the best investment to date for the projects. I have plug in tools for mostly everything else cutoff, impact, sander so I've not found a reason to switch those over to air tools.
I did buy a air ratchet for small stuff just to check it out. Here was a kit that was cheap and great to get started
http://t.harborfreight.com/20-piece...://www.google.com/&utm_medium=mobile_redirect
So yeah outside of the cabinet I don't use it much.