AMC 360 Trouble Starting After Sitting

AMC 360 Trouble Starting After Sitting

AeroMoto

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1973 CJ5, AMC 360, 4" Rancho lift
Has an Edelbrock 8867 Carb on it.

...and by after sitting, I mean as little as a day. It'll crank and crank all day, but won't turn over. My "magic" trick is to use a little Vitamin E, starting fluid. Spray that in there and it'll start right up. I'm able to start it after several hours, haven't exactly tested the time.

So I'm thinking it's a gas problem. It's got a DUI ignition less than 6 months old. The accelerator pump is working when I twist the throttle at the carb. So that tells me either that there's gas in the bowl or there's gas in the fuel line (not sure where the accelerator pump gets the gas from).

I'm a newbie on Jeep carbs, but I've messed with motorcycle cars. So where should I start? TIA

:chug:

Hello Aero

I had the same problem. Installed a see through gas filter between pump and carb. Then you can see what is going on. I also had to replace the hose between the pump and the carb(small leak) and this fixed the problem and I stopped the vitamin E shots.

I had the same problem, I've tried everything, new hoses, pump, filters carb rebuild, etc etc and it still does it. I use to use starter fluid but its a pain in the arse and is very tough of valve train. So I've rigged up an electric pump in parallel that I have switched through a momentary switch on the dash, I can now prime the engine (5sec burst) and then start first time every time without hassle. It will double as an emergency backup if the mechanical pump ever packed up on trail. I decided to go down this route instead of ditching the mechanical pump solely for the electric to remove some of the known electrical pump faults (over pumping, too much pressure, faliures etc). To stop back-feeding I do use a couple of one way valves.