Rusted frame

Rusted frame

JEEPD

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1986 CJ7 with I6 258, TF999, D300 and D44 rear end.
I just bought this 86 CJ7 for $2500. Runs and drives good and had the options I was looking for (auto trans and Dana 44 axle) I knew there was some rust to the tub, and part of the frame, but after I crawled under it and looked more closely the damage was more that I thought at first.
There is significant rust damage to the frame where the front of the rear leaf springs connect. The previous owner bolted in a pair of 2x6 pieces of wood inside the frame to strengthen it, and bolted the spring hanger to it?!
I do have a brother who is a welder by trade and going to have him look at it. Just looking for opinions on how severe of an issue this is, or issues with fixing it.
So far I am not to upset with my purchase, I knew I was going to have to do a good amount of work to it, just as long as there is not to many more big surprises. Kind of ticked at myself I missed something this noticeable:mad::censored:.

Any input / opinions are appreciated.

Wow. Wood? Crazy. I thought my frame rust was bad. I am looking to replace mine in the upcoming year. I hope that you are not driving this around a lot at this point. I would be afraid for the suspension giving up on you.

You may not want to hear this, but... you asked. My frame was not as bad as yours and ... I bought a new one. Being that your brother is a good thing and I was going to suggest plating all the bad areas. however after looking at the pics, I wouldn't trust any of it. There are places that look paper thin. How many of those places exist that you just can't see yet. You may put some time and money into it only to have more areas collapse in a year or two. I would start to look for a replacement frame. A new one will run about $1900 but you can find a good used one for around $500, depending on your location.