Reverse Switch on Borg Warner T18 Trans

Reverse Switch on Borg Warner T18 Trans

pwalsh1487

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
‘79 CJ5, 304, T18, D20, AMC20, D30
I have a 79 CJ 5 with a Borg Warner T18 4 speed transmission installed by a previous owner. Just finishing up a complete rewire with Painless Performance wiring harness and, for the life of me, I can’t find the reverse switch / electrical contacts on the tranny to connect the reverse light wires to or the 4wd contacts on the transfer case to connect the 4wd indicator wires to ... I am a complete Newbie so any help or photos would be appreciated!! Thanks,

I have a 79 CJ 5 with a Borg Warner T18 4 speed transmission installed by a previous owner. Just finishing up a complete rewire with Painless Performance wiring harness and, for the life of me, I can’t find the reverse switch / electrical contacts on the tranny to connect the reverse light wires to or the 4wd contacts on the transfer case to connect the 4wd indicator wires to ... I am a complete Newbie so any help or photos would be appreciated!! Thanks,

Trans reverse switch should be on the DS top rear of the plate, single contact switch.
Transfer case switch on both Dana 20 and D300 are on the top PS right at the shift rail detents.

Much appreciated Basod! Maybe they’re both so crudded over that they’re not obvious ... will hit it with some light sandpaper and see what emerges.

If they're all covered with crud the best thing I found after covering myself with splash back from the 0degree nozzle with my pressure washer was heavy duty oven cleaner - don't worry it's not gonna eat through an aluminum housing.

Not sure if you can buy straight Lye drain cleaner anymore but its the best degreaser - oven cleaner is already an aerosol version

I took both of them out and set them on a pallet and used 3-4cans brushing with a heavy nylon brush in between rinses