Body Painting Doors Questions

Body Painting Doors Questions

aglinks

Active Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
‘83 CJ7, 4.8L Vortec, TF999, D300, AMC20, D30
Hey all,

I want to paint my doors and attempt to match the body color. I am totally new to painting, so this may go terribly. But any information or resources that can be offered would be great! I think my Jeep factory color was called Olympic White. Is there a code for this that can be mixed up?

if there's a code for the most part it can be made. matching is a different thing all together. if you're paint is original then more than likely its enamel based and faded. the new paints are urethane based. now if it's been repainted or repaired over the all bets are off on trying to blend and match unless you can drop off a painted piece for matching purposes.

as far as technique when you spray once you achieve coverage on the doors just extend your next few coats out a little more with each time to blend the difference in color so its not noticeable. then just clear the whole panel. (on a jeep i use the seam between the side panel and top panel. and also the vertical seam at the rear).

Sent from my E6810 using Tapatalk

All Jeeps have a color code if the paint is original. Mine is 4-K. When I got my doors painted they used that code. My original paint had faded.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    61.5 KB · Views: 12
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    128.7 KB · Views: 13
The good news is white will show less fading than others........ If you paint the doors only, you may see a very slight difference, but with white, may not even be noticeable. My doors are slightly lighter the the tub - I decided it easier to live with the slight difference than worry about blending into the tub. If it were a Ferrari I would have sweated it, but I got it really close and went with it.