"New" 74 CJ5

DrewWilson

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'75 CJ5
258 4.2L
Hello--
I am looking for some advice. I am picking up a 74 CJ5 this week. 258 Straight 6, 3 speed manual. I have owned YT/TJs in the past (1994, 2000, 2011) but finally pulled the trigger on my first CJ. Always been my favorite. I have some minor experience with repairs (replace radiator, thermostat, valve cover gasket, water pump, alternator, timing chain tensioner, etc). This CJ is somewhat of a barn find.
The good: All original...has original hard top, doors, wheels, and seats. It starts and runs well. 4-wheel drive works. Floor pans look great. No body damage other than a nice "patina", and some surface rust spots.
The bad: I know it has a knock when it first starts, goes away in about 30 seconds. Minor leak around valve cover, needs new gasket. Possible small transmission and rear diff leak. Will need new taillight panels.
If anyone can provide some guidance on what to look for I'd appreciate it. Looking forward to fixing it up and getting it dirty.

Thanks.

Drew

Attachments

• IMG_9069.jpg
    IMG_9069.jpg
    95 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_9070.jpg
    IMG_9070.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_9071.jpg
    IMG_9071.jpg
    91.6 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_9072.jpg
    IMG_9072.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_9073.jpg
    IMG_9073.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Congrats! Are you sure its a knock, or could it be a tick? One could be bearings, the other a lifter. You'll want to verify oil pressure with a manual gauge.

Definitely just a tick.

Had a sporty day bringing it "Ol' Blue" home. breaks are intermittent. Started off with a tough pull to the left when breaking at 45+mph and then basically NOTHING. Rolled though some stop signs unintentionally. Had to "STOP?" at a gas station to get some break fluid, but the reservoir was close to full. Topped it off anyway. Going to run through the break system.