Looking at Ducati Monster

Looking at Ducati Monster

Suz

Old Time Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1982 CJ8- a.k.a. Black Pearl
Looking for something to run up & down the highway approx. 100 miles a day commuting. Fell in love w/ the Monster Dark back around 2000. Looks like they're still in production from what I see online. Anybody have any firsthand knowledge or input?

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk

I've no experience with a Monster, but there is definitely a coolness about them.

There are lots of used examples available.

Harder to find a Dark though... boys seem to like red :-) plenty of those available.

Try this? :)

plasti1.jpg

Not a bad idea! Bet I'd get better traction too:-)

So, I headed down to Tallahassee this afternoon, to Florida Motorsports. Got to straddle a 2014 Monster. Felt REALLY good. Too much plastic though. Gonna try to find something pre-2005. Small world though; the sales guy used to play in one of the regular bands at a little Tavern I used to frequent. He actually remembers me. Can't swing a dead cat without running into someone I know... such is my life.

Make sure whoever you buy from has all the service records. The L twin is a good motor but the desmodromic valvetrain is not happy when it is out of spec and Ducati=$$$ when needing parts. Also don't forget this is a naked bike and 100 miles a day of buffeting against your helmet at 60-70 mph will get old. I would at least look for a bike with a half fairing minimum.

From here, it looks great.
Let us know how it turns out.

From here, it looks great.
Let us know how it turns out.

Did you happen to follow the link or are you just looking at the pic? It's got over 34k miles. Having been well maintained though, that shouldn't be a dealbreaker...

It's a nice bike, but unless you have a carbon fiber fetish, the price is about $1,600 too high.
Let us know how it looks in person.

It's a nice bike, but unless you have a carbon fiber fetish, the price is about $1,600 too high.