How to handle CJ5 frame and tub rust - pics

How to handle CJ5 frame and tub rust - pics

ewerbeck

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 CJ5 4.2L 258. Dana 20 T-Case, T150 3-speed manual trans. Dana 30 front. AMC 20 rear.
I'm a complete newbie and probably paid too much :censored: for a CJ with frame rust. It also has some rust under the tub and I should've been clued in by the extensive diamond plating.

That being said--I'm wondering how to handle the frame rust. It looks like someone already welded on reinforcements to one side(?). Do I need to remove the body to deal with the frame rust? Do I need to remove the body to handle the body rust or can I work from underneath? The reason this is a big issue, is that I don't have much space to work/store stuff. I might have to find another place to work in. Please let me know what you guys think.

FRAME:
IMG_3282.JPG

IMG_3281.JPG

OPPOSITE SIDE and TUB:
IMG_3276.JPG

first thing to ask your self is how comfortable are you with welding. that is the frame of a vehicle your going to be driving on the road your patchng together. With that much rot I would look into a different frame. or atleast the rear half of a better frame. Unforunately I looked for a CJ 5 frame in Fl for quite awhile and never came up with any thing. We ended up cutting the rear frame a decent CJ 7 frame that I had here and swapped em. Where you at in FL? If your local to central I may be able to come look at it for you. Looks like some one else has already done some butch repairs on it.

Hey Jimbo,

I've never welded anything in my life... but I guess that's pretty much where this has to go, huh? I wonder if I could find someone who would weld on pieces for me? Either way it seems like that kind of work to the frame would require everything being removed from the frame first... then I'd have a transportation issue getting the frame to someone so they could weld it.