Front Axle Snap Ring

Front Axle Snap Ring

Neuner

Old Time Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
"Oscar":1985 CJ7, 4.0 '98 OBDII, T177, RE 4.5" lift w/ CV Jnts, Dana 300, Dana 30 and AMC 20, 33" BFG KO2s, Raptor Lined Interior and Rustoleum BBQ exterior.
PO left out way too many parts when re-building my Jeep. Went to look at the front wheel bearings and found that the axle snap ring has been missing. How badly is this part needed? I can't find it at any local store and don't want to pay $6 to have it shipped.

Disclaimer: I am just a shade tree mechanic (of that), so anything I say could well be completely wrong.

A guy I was talking to the other day about some lockout hubs said that the axle snap ring was only 100% essential on the very very old models, and that even my '66 would probably be ok without one. But I am going to try to find one anyway, as I have an uneducated theory/supposition that not having it is what broke my hub in the first place.

If you take the snap ring off the other side in for measurement, I would think that about any decent auto or farm equipment parts store ought to be able to match you up one that will work ok.

Found an assortment of rings locally at up to 1-1/4". Anyone happen to know the size required?

Snap rings are fairly easy to find, most automotive stores have an assortment, even ACE probably has what you need. You don't have to be all that accurate and I'm at work so I can't get a quick measurement right now, but close counts and they are inexpensive. Probably less than a dollar.

You might not need one, but they are there for a reason. I had one pop off my Trooper. The axle shaft backed out and I ground the end off the axle drive shaft and had to replace it. The Jeep isn't set up in the same way as the trooper, but why risk it. After all even spending $6.00 on a snap ring is cheaper than $100 on a new axle drive shaft. Seems like a penny wise and a dollar foolish way of thinking to me.