cleaning the motor

JeePHeaD

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1975 Cj5
232(1974?)
stocker thats ready to build!!!
so i have a leaky valve cover, oil is on the manifold right by the carb i wana get to cleaning this mess and re sealing the leak! whats the best steps to getting that gunk off the motor...degreaser and a power washer were my thoughts rapping up the cab so it dont get wet and blasing it away???? what works best as a cheap cleaner and whats the do's and dont's to this project. as for the valve cover gasket should i use one or just sealant ??? iv done alittle reading on this....its my first attempt to fix this problem and first time doing a valve cover seal any tricks:cool:

i just use gunk engine degreaser and a hose to clean mine.

i use a cheap degreaser from the dollar store and a pressure washer. as for the gasket the only way i have found to get it not to leak is to use a good gasket and put a thin layer of rtv on both side of it, be sure not to over tighten the bolts and i always wait until the rtv is dry before i start it up

I have been using a product called Super Clean, It is biodegradable and can be found at most hardware stores for @ $10 a gallon and it works great. Get the heavy stuff off first with a putty knife \ wire brush, soak with cleaner, let it sit for a while and blast away with a power washer. I would also suggest wrapping the distributor along with the carb and not directly blasting either one.
Also, if there is one in your area, do this at a self serve car wash with a oil \ water separator, there are already enough chemicals in the ground, the Aina' will thank you for it.

Bush

I use Gunk and high psi spray, at the car wash to avoid getting :dung: on my drive way.

Jeep-CJ Donation Drive

Help support Jeep-CJ.com by making a donation.

Help support Jeep-CJ.com by making a donation.
Goal
$200.00
Earned
$0.00
This donation drive ends in
Back
Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected