CJ7 Storage Solutions

CJ7 Storage Solutions

aglinks

Active Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
‘83 CJ7, 4.8L Vortec, TF999, D300, AMC20, D30
Does anyone have any storage ideas for camping gear in a CJ7? I have the toolbox that fits behind the seat which is nice and a rack for the hitch but I dont think I can get everything I need to take my wife and dogs camping for a few days. How hard is it to mount a roofrack? I have a Thule basket for my wife's new Renegade so if I could come up with a good way to throw that up top I think I would be good to go.

I dont have any pictures, but one of my wheeling buddies fab'd a custom roof mounted aluminum "box" that houses all the light but bulky stuff. It does help that he's a custom fabricator by trade though ;)

Have you Googled roof rack for a CJ7? I did and came up with some.

Have you Googled roof rack for a CJ7? I did and came up with some.

The only one I can find that is still in production is the Garvin Industries rack and its $1200. Plus it appears that the basket it attached to the support bars and cannot be removed separately. I wouldnt be able to pull into my garage with a permanent basket on top.

Check with Garvin Industries.

I called Garvin Industries and got measurements and sadly it will not fit in my garage since the basket cannot be removed. What I really want is something like the Kargo Master Congo Cage (See link) so I can put my Thule basket on top when I plan to go hunting/camping. Sadly that isnt in production anymore. Does anyone know of something similar being made by a different manufacturer?

Link: https://www.quadratec.com/products/12138_001_07.htm

I found someone that had a Congo Cage in stock so I immediately ordered it! I should be able to put my Thule basket up top when I am going hunting no problem.

Apparently the company I bought the rack from didnt actually have it. Back to searching!