Body B-pillar question regarding ‘76 CJ7

Body B-pillar question regarding ‘76 CJ7

JohnEJo

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1976 Jeep CJ7, 304, Quadra Trac
Hello. I’m new to the Jeep world having just purchased a ‘76 CJ7 with Quadra Trac. I believe it originally came with a soft top and full doors, but I’m looking to get a YJ hard top with doors for it. I’m not seeing any door striker plates on it and know I’ll have to get some, but I read somewhere that I might have to do something with the B-pillar supports, or did I misunderstand what I read? I was thinking all I had to do was get the striker plates and screw them on, but am I wrong about that?

Thank you in advance.

You don't have to do anything to the hinge area you will have to convert from a handle style (think screen door latch) and get an actual striker plate easiest is from a late CJ 7 or YJ in a junkyard but it's easy and straight forward

Sent from my E7110 using Tapatalk

You don't have to do anything to the hinge area you will have to convert from a handle style (think screen door latch) and get an actual striker plate easiest is from a late CJ 7 or YJ in a junkyard but it's easy and straight forward

Okay. Thank you.

There are no strike plates on it right now and wasn’t sure if that was a problem. There are two holes on the inside and back part of the doorway, as you can see from the picture. Could those have been for a striker plate at one time that might have been removed for some reason?

Thanks, again. Much appreciated! 😊

IMG_0710.jpeg

No the older ones used a simple latch and handles my wife's 79 CJ 7 had it as well. I'll take pictures tomorrow. In the meantime here's a 87 YJ zoom in to see the striker64a6fbe323a08bf881f1cc4a5231be11.jpg