76 CJ5 Master Cylinder

76 CJ5 Master Cylinder

brandenj09

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1976 CJ5
Hey guys, I'm a newbie, former lurker who's having a few master cylinder issues.

I have a 76 CJ5 that had a leaky MC so I took it off, but now I'm thinking they had the wrong MC installed. The Jeep is drum/drum, but it has a short reservoir up front and a long one in the back. The MC piston on the old one was hollow so the pushrod could fit in right. The only numbers I could find on the old one were 315 (I think) on the left and 2227181 on the right. Google seems to know nothing about this MC.

Anyways-I bought a new MC, but this one has the shallow MC piston, so the pushrod won't fit in like it should. I looked around various parts websites, but I can't find a drum/drum MC with a hollow piston with the brake line ports on the left.

So what's a better option? Buying a different MC that's drum/drum and hollow, buying a new pushrod, or buying the complete MC assembly (pushrod+MC)? I'm just starting on this CJ5 as a project, so I need a little seat time before I dig into to high $ upgrades.

You could try an adjustable pushrod. I like them as they provide a more accurate setting.

Yup-I have manual brakes (should have mentioned that). So I'm guessing the new one I already have is a drum/drum for power brakes. I should have double checked when I bought it knowing that the AutoZone near me is run by teenagers. I was looking at that Oreilly one and I think that should work. Kind of hard to tell how deep the hole is in the MC piston, but it's definitely worth a shot for $20.

There were a few other things that the PO did with the MC that seemed a bit off. The rubber boot was on the outside of the retaining cup, which seems wrong to me, and there was a gasket between the retaining cup and the MC. Seems like there wouldn't need to be a gasket there unless your MC is leaking. I think the brake lines look a bit newer, so I'm really hoping the same PO didn't install those too lol.