Electrical 1979 CJ7 Electrical Gremlins

Electrical 1979 CJ7 Electrical Gremlins

UncleMike

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 Jeep CJ-7, 5L
Hi...need some guidance from the experts on where to start. Recently acquired the 79 with 304 manual tranny and starting to go through the various issues. After successful fixes to horn and lighting, had a new gremlin show up that has resulted in a power supply issue to the dash. Prior to horn fix, all lights and switches worked, but i don't think my fix caused this new problem but who knows? I am not an electrical expert, and just getting familiar with multimeter. The horn fix involved replacing the missing horn button, signal switch and signal canceling cam. i followed instructions found in several youtube videos, consulted factory wiring diagram, tested and learned the multimeter along the way and all the horn stuff worked out fine.

Symptoms are: no (or extremely weak) dash lighting, hazards don't kick on (indicators are weak, and you can hear relay try to kick), turn signal indicators don't work, but signals do. Gauges work but lights don't (or are too weak to see) I believe i have good grounds to dash and chassis (resistance from negative battery post to all points i have checked is less than 1 ohm). My initial plan is to redo/beef up the grounds all the way around, and clean the fuse terminals and just generally clean up anything i see that is rusty or corroded. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction for things to start testing and checking. Any help appreciated!