1974 CJ5 stock

1974 CJ5 stock

amedic4now

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1974 CJ5
Hello everyone,

Let me start this by saying, I am not a mechanic by any means and I am learning as I go. I have a stock CJ5 with the AMC 304. The problem is the Jeep has been sitting for around 30 years. I am concentrating on the motor first. When it was parked it had fluids in it and just sat. The engine was rebuilt just before it was parked. I have pulled the engine to re-gasket it. I am being told by friends that I am COMPLETELY waisting my time. I can see a pretty fair amount of oil leaking around the oil pan and valve covers. To properly inspect the engine I was also considering replacing the head gasket and pulling the heads. I know it is a lot more work but to be through and to put a solid engine back into the vehicle that I will not have to wrench on every time I want to use it, I am thinking just do it right now!!!! So what is the advice of any one here???

:ww:

I moved your thread - you had it in site questions like "how do I post a picture" etc - no worries, just FYI.

No matter what others say, it's your rig. There is never anything wrong with pulling a engine and disassemble and reassemble with new gaskets and see for yourself what has been done inside and the condition.

Especially if you see a bit of leaking, you could get away with less, but like you said - you want a great solid engine for the jeep from the start - you're doing it right...

:chug:

if its been sitting for 30 years id say pull the heads and inspect the condition of the cylinders if they are clean and rust free (at least no pitting) then id say clean it up re gasket it and get it running and enjoy.

also post some pics of your new to you rig.

one last thing welcome to the site

:ww::dbanana::banana:

Are there any local Jeep clubs near you that have a few CJ's in them? Look there for help.:confused:
Drain ALL old gas. Ck ALL oil levels.