T5 Transmission

T5 Transmission

bakocj7

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
86 cj7, 4.2 I6, T5 transmission, Dana 300 Transfer case
I have a T5 Transmission that I recently pulled from my CJ7. I have several gears with broken teeth. After looking at the cost to rebuild it myself or by a rebuilt T5 I can pick up a Muncie SMT465 with the adapters and bell housing to match my CJ7 for about the same price. I am new to Transmissions so I dont know what the best option for me would be. I have seen a lot of negative things about the T5 transmission though.

I have a T5 Transmission that I recently pulled from my CJ7. I have several gears with broken teeth. After looking at the cost to rebuild it myself or by a rebuilt T5 I can pick up a Muncie SMT465 with the adapters and bell housing to match my CJ7 for about the same price. I am new to Transmissions so I dont know what the best option for me would be. I have seen a lot of negative things about the T5 transmission though.

First, welcome to the forum!

This question is not easy to answer. There are a plethora of transmissions that will work or can be made to work. Without know what your end goal is it will be hard pressed to get you a straight answer as to what is the best option. The main issue here is that you are comparing 2 completely different transmissions. Are you building a street vehicle or a bulldozer?

I kid but the muncie is a big brick with dual PTOS and a 6.55 first gear. The t5 is an overdrive tranny with street gearing. So what are you building your jeep to do?

My personal opinion is stick with a 5 speed. Either rebuild or buy a good condition t5 and make sure you have the correct gear ratio to handle your tire size and you will see good life from it. Or you can look into an ax15 or Nv3550 which are much stronger transmissions. But I am building my CJ to primarily see street use.