Pull body tub?

Pull body tub?

CJ

Admin
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'72 CJ5, 401, T18, D20, D44, D30
'82 CJ8, 258, D300, AMC20, D30
Besides having a bunch of friends over for :beer: and BBQ, what is the preferred method of lifting off your CJ's body tub?

I am going to pull mine and since I'm going to be placing it on and off a few times (and my friends can drink a keg of :beer: at a whim), I'm thinking of buying an A-Frame. I don't want to spend a ton of money though.

Anyone have one they can recommend? And, since I'm no structural engineer... How much weight can a roof truss hold? Maybe just rig up a winch to a few trusses to distribute the load?

I don't think I can extend or rig an engine hoist to lift the tub... Or - can I? Anyone ever done this?

I usually work by myself so single person operation is a must.

Thoughts?

Besides having a bunch of friends over for :beer: and BBQ, what is the preferred method of lifting off your CJ's body tub?

I am going to pull mine and since I'm going to be placing it on and off a few times (and my friends can drink a keg of :beer: at a whim), I'm thinking of buying an A-Frame. I don't want to spend a ton of money though.

Anyone have one they can recommend? And, since I'm no structural engineer... How much weight can a roof truss hold? Maybe just rig up a winch to a few trusses to distribute the load?

I don't think I can extend or rig an engine hoist to lift the tub... Or - can I? Anyone ever done this?

I usually work by myself so single person operation is a must.

Thoughts?

Building contractor here!
If you can get into the area over finished ceiling in your garage I would take 2-2X6 X 10's screw and glue them together, lay them on edge, and build a makeshift "outrigger just to hold them that way, and and sling over them to a hoist. The body is not very heavy. and any standard framing will easily handle the load spread over several truss members.