Build Thread My 1982 cj build thread

Build Thread My 1982 cj build thread

ttuseth

Active Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1982 CJ 7
It has the original I6, 5 speed manual tranny and I know nothing about transfer case and diffs..
If someone is reading this please send me a message about how to figure out these things and I will get it straight
I'd like to chronicle all the work, mods, and things in doing on my cj in a build thread.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

I'll start with my jeeping story

I always wanted a CJ7.... was never well off enough or able to buy one for most of my life.
Once I graduated college and got a real job I squirreled away some money in hopes of getting one.
I spoke with a few jeep shops and they convinced me that I should get a yj. They told me that for my intended use I wouldn't want a carbureted engine.

So in 2008 I bought myself a 1994 Sahara wrangler on ebay in Ohio. It had 244k miles on it and lots of rust. I used it often and the ride was horrible but overall it wasn't that bad.
About a year or so later I met and started dating my wife. Once things progressed with us she moved in with me.
Now we had 2 people in a 1950s built house in Houston with a 1 car garage and drive way with 4 cars!
My dd, my jeep, her car, and her company provided car.
Things needed to change so I sold my dd and my jeep.
But I did pool all that money for a future jeep purchase.

2 years later I was working for an offshore drilling company that got bought out and I was offered a golden parachute. .. payout of my bonus and a 4 month severance package.
I didn't like the company or my job much so I jumped at the opportunity and found myself a much better job anyways.
My wife pointed out that I could go get another jeep (she is awesome)

Well I had a considerable amount of money so I stupidly looked newer. I bought myself a 2007 4 door soft top 6 speed wrangler (again off ebay).
Low miles great condition and for the price an absolute steal!