Complete new guy with a couple questions

Complete new guy with a couple questions

smhclason

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
86 CJ7 258 straight six, still new to CJ's so I don't have very much to offer here
Hi, I am new to the site, and I have a couple questions.

I am new to CJ's and recently bought an 86 CJ7 with a salvage title. It has damage on the rear drivers side fender from a possible fender bender or roll over. I was leery of a salvage title but it had the healthiest straight six that I have ever driven in a CJ in my price range.

In the rear, there is a noticeable height difference from the drivers side to the passengers side, sort of a tilt. I have taken to all my "mechanic friends" and they assured me that the frame is not bent and that it shouldn't cause any problems. It drives straight and doesn't wander at highway speeds.

I'm fairly young and have no clue about suspensions or something that could have caused this. I know its damage caused by an accident. Could some parts have been replaced only on that side by a hack for a quick resale or could my suspension be sagging. Ive had a saggy suspension in other vehicles but from me crawling up underneath it doesnt look like anything is out of place or failing.

It could be frame damage, bad shock, bad shackle, and any number of things given your description. A couple of pictures might help. One of this noticeable lean and maybe one of the rear suspension. How much difference are we talking on the lean. 1 inch, 2 inches? Take a measurement of the following and post your results: Level ground to frame both sides, level ground to axle both sides, and level ground to body both sides. With a little more information we may be able to help. Thanks, and welcome aboard. Rod

PS: Salvage Title in CO means the vehicle was totaled in an accident. There are ways to get a clean title should you desire to do so.

Last edited: