Canoes?

Canoes?

Petescj

Lifetime Supporter
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1982 CJ-7 258 / T-18 / Dana 300 31 in All Terrains.
1978 CJ-7 304 / TH 400 / Quadratrac 32 in Mud Terrains
During the Summer I like to cram in as much outdoor time as I can. Awhile back I got a raft that Ive used a few times on our local river. Its ok for 2 people but I was loking for an upgrade of sorts. I ran the idea of a canoe past Vicki and she says they are easy to tip. I have no experience with them whatsoever. Canoe guys give me some help please. :confused:

Heres what I was looking at:

Canoe, red 14.5 ft

Good price on the canoe skip the wood paddles and get alum & plastic ones.

Looks like a good starter canoe. Tippy? Yes but but you learn to keep your weight towards the center. When learning, stay in the shallows. As you build experience vènture out deeper. Stay close to shore with waves over 1'. And paddle into them. :D

I love canoeing. Been canoe camping in the Boundary Waters. Great time. It's not hard to keep from tipping them over.

Paddling tip: the one in the back can do all the steering. Let the less experienced canoer sit in front. At the end of the stroke push the paddle away from the canoe. This will keep you going strait.
sternsteering-600.jpg
If you straiten out your stroke you will turn to the right in the above example.
If the person in the front is paddleing on the opposite side as you then you won't need to stroke away from the canoe as much.
The bottom line is to realize you can turn either way no matter what side of the canoe you are paddling on.

Inexperienced canoers will alternate paddling on one side then the other trying to keep the canoe going strait. That can get to be a lot of work.

Last edited:
I love canoeing. Been canoe camping in the Boundary Waters. Great time.

Used to go every year for many years. It grows on you.

And canoes fit on top of a CJ well. :D