Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'77 Fiat Spider 124
'79 Porsche 928
'83 Jeep CJ7
'93 Chevy Suburban
'04 BMW Z4 3.0
Hi everyone! New to the forum and jeeps! I always wanted a jeep and just purchased one for my son so we can work on it together. It is in great shape, but I bought it from a guy who lived in Wyoming and I live in Texas. He did not use it much and thought it was set up for high altitude. It seems to run a little lean, but driveable. I confirmed the high altitude via the label under the hood. I imagine I am looking for new jetting, but hoped someone has been through this before. If not, I'll figure it out. Although I am new to jeeps, I have done all my own work on my cars for the last 20 years and have no intention of taking it anywhere!! I have a 79 Porsche 928 and '77 Fiat Spider as well. NO ONE touches my stuff LOL! Anyway, looking forward to meeting and working with you guys. Thanks in advance.

The first thing I would do is back the timing off some because you run it higher at high altitude.

There is another ground for running high altitude...might help. Should be on the passenger side firewall around the oil sending unit area. Black with white wire, should both be hooked up if above 4k feet.

Altitude Jumper

That site is a good place to get info if your gonna change the timing as suggested and for a few other things (depending on how much smog equipment is on it)...good luck with it and welcome to the site and the world of Jeeps.

Jeep Adventures Under the Hood