4wd ?

4wd ?

dalefan88

Crazy Sr. Respected Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
79 cj5 258, t150, dana 20 transfer case, dana 30 front, 20 rear,warn hubs,2.5" procomp lift,teamrush,msd box,mc2100 carb,hedman header,clifford intake,optima battery, ford shock towers.
im still learning my jeep. we finally got our first big snow fall. i locked the hubs hop in put it in neutrel, put it in 4hi and drove it around the block and 4wd never locked in. the shifter acts like it dont wont to stay in 4hi. so i come to a stop put in back in neutrel put it in 4lo and the shifter stayed there. went around the block again, still nothing.
angryfire.gif
any ideas. this is one reason i wanted the jeep. thanks jesse

what? you don't trust us on the other site? :laugh: It does sound like the hubs are sticking, as they said.

what? you don't trust us on the other site? :laugh: It does sound like the hubs are sticking, as they said.
I have a feeling I am missing something here... :confused:

Easy check... After you get it into low or high range, stick your head out the door and look under the Jeep as you inch forward. Is the front drive shaft turning? If yes then the hubs are stuck.

If it hasn't been locked in in a while, many times the grease packs up and the springs can't overcome the friction to slide in and lock the axle. What kind of hubs?

If it's a little cold (probably is with snow on the ground), believe it or not... Sometimes taking a heat gun and warming the hubs will lower the viscosity of the grease enough and you can get them to engage. Once you get em once, they might start working again as long as you use them a few times.

I have a feeling I am missing something here... :confused:
NO not missing much...We are both members over on Jeeps-offroad.com also.
I recognized his screen name when he came over here.
He's just looking for even more informed opinions from even bigger Jeep nuts and I couldn't help giving him :censored:. :laugh: