225 Dauntless Lost power

225 Dauntless Lost power

KcSolomon

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1970 Jeep CJ5, V6, Manual
Hey everyone,
I need help once again. This time my 1970 CJ5 with a Dauntless 225 is losing power. It starts and runs fairly good. It takes a little warming up up then it idles like a dream. I went out of town for a week and when I got back and fired it up the first time it backfired a bit. When I drove it it had no power.
I have noticed that the oil pressure is a staying down around 40. Normally it would get up to around 60 while driving. that could be because of the loss of power. Another thing is backfiring when I first start it up.
I am a newbie when it comes to mechanics. If it were not getting spark or gas I could troubleshoot something. With this issue I am lost. My first guess is a fule air mixture. Please help.

Thanks,
KC

Before messing with air / fuel mixture, check for vac leaks, or exhaust leak (though you'd probably hear the exhaust leak if that... :cool:)

I say this assuming the Jeep ran good with power before going out of town, and just started doing this when you got back.

The timing, and fuel / air mixture would not have changed... Neither should have any vac lines or exhaust either, I get that... But... You also mention backfiring, which would lead me to the same conclusions.

Timing
Mixture
Vac Leaks
Charging system / low bat level, inopp alt (just a thought)
Points in distributor?
Exhaust leak at the heads

Where are we loosing power? And what exactly is it doing while loosing power? Bogging down? or simply no-going good while motor "sounds" normal?

:chug:

~ JR

check fuel delivery for a partially clogged line
look over the carb to see if it is working good

that was the easy part

checking the vacuum lines is a little messy but but well worth the time replacing them with new tubes is even better.

with the engine running, can you hear any hissing sound?