Default Re: Oil Gauge wiring 

Old 04-24-2019, 11:26 PM   #11
RiverandSand is offline
RiverandSand
Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): '80, CJ5, 350 sbc, sm465, D300, D30, AMC20
 
RiverandSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Yuma
Posts: 343
Thanks: 16
Thanked 73 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 3 RiverandSand is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shum8 View Post
No, no - keep going. I for one find comfort knowing I知 not the only one with gauge issues. And with luck you値l find the problem and share the solution... win win.


I have no idea where I sent this from......
Agreed we come and go, I live the southwest so we jeep almost everyday or aleast try to. So I check in when I can. I had to replace my oil gauge because a PO installed a mechanical one which was a cheapie and didn't read accurately. I stayed mechanical and replaced it with Autometer as well as the volt gauge to match.
Have you tried Rockauto I have used them and I like the choices they give on parts, your usually not stuck just omix or crown.

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote


Register for a free membership and remove this add!
Vote for Jeep-CJ.com daily!
Vote for Jeep-CJ.com

Default Re: Oil Gauge wiring 

Old 04-25-2019, 10:59 AM   #12
Tectron is offline
Tectron
Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): 1980 CJ7, T176 Trans, 304 CID, 300 tc, Summit HEI Dist, Edelbrock intake, carb and cam, stock diffs 4.56 gears with Front and rear lockrites, Family Cage, 15x10x12.5 BFG MT's, 4" lift.
 
Tectron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Heber, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 209
Images: 4
Thanks: 45
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1 Tectron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverandSand View Post
Agreed we come and go, I live the southwest so we jeep almost everyday or aleast try to. So I check in when I can. I had to replace my oil gauge because a PO installed a mechanical one which was a cheapie and didn't read accurately. I stayed mechanical and replaced it with Autometer as well as the volt gauge to match.
Have you tried Rockauto I have used them and I like the choices they give on parts, your usually not stuck just omix or crown.
The Gauges in the jeep now are "Equus" , I don't know anything about there quality, but just to keep the gauges matching I think I'll get another one. If it fails I may just replace all the gauges at some point.
__________________
For a Free Jeep this thing is costing me a small Fortune

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote

Default Speedo Gauge 

Old 04-25-2019, 05:58 PM   #13
Tectron is offline
Tectron
Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): 1980 CJ7, T176 Trans, 304 CID, 300 tc, Summit HEI Dist, Edelbrock intake, carb and cam, stock diffs 4.56 gears with Front and rear lockrites, Family Cage, 15x10x12.5 BFG MT's, 4" lift.
 
Tectron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Heber, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 209
Images: 4
Thanks: 45
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1 Tectron is on a distinguished road
Good news, Speedo cable installed without much trouble, it was broke at transfer case, I now know about how fast I'm going.
__________________
For a Free Jeep this thing is costing me a small Fortune

Last edited by Tectron; 04-25-2019 at 06:03 PM..

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote

Default Re: Speedo Gauge 

Old 04-26-2019, 02:07 PM   #14
RiverandSand is offline
RiverandSand
Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): '80, CJ5, 350 sbc, sm465, D300, D30, AMC20
 
RiverandSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Yuma
Posts: 343
Thanks: 16
Thanked 73 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 3 RiverandSand is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tectron View Post
Good news, Speedo cable installed without much trouble, it was broke at transfer case, I now know about how fast I'm going.
Still fighting mine, replaced my cable but it still works intermittently. I think the inside of the speedo gear in the TF case is bad. I need to change it anyway as the speedo was way off when it worked.

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote

Default Re: Speedo Gauge 

Old 04-27-2019, 10:59 AM   #15
Tectron is offline
Tectron
Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): 1980 CJ7, T176 Trans, 304 CID, 300 tc, Summit HEI Dist, Edelbrock intake, carb and cam, stock diffs 4.56 gears with Front and rear lockrites, Family Cage, 15x10x12.5 BFG MT's, 4" lift.
 
Tectron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Heber, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 209
Images: 4
Thanks: 45
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1 Tectron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverandSand View Post
Still fighting mine, replaced my cable but it still works intermittently. I think the inside of the speedo gear in the TF case is bad. I need to change it anyway as the speedo was way off when it worked.
I haven't checked the accuracy on mine yet, curious to find out if its close.
__________________
For a Free Jeep this thing is costing me a small Fortune

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote

Default Re: Oil Gauge wiring 

Old 04-28-2019, 02:46 PM   #16
mdeluca is offline
mdeluca
Old Time Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): 1986 CJ7, 258, T5, D30, D44, D300
 
mdeluca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 794
Thanks: 81
Thanked 256 Times in 190 Posts
Rep Power: 4 mdeluca is on a distinguished road
I've got an 86 that had the, since removed, computer. It had the sensor pickup attached to the sender. I removed the sensor and installed a mechanical oil pressure gauge so I at least know what is really going on.



Purchased a new cheap gauge and sender from Crown at Quadratec and it worked for about 3 minutes... then the needle started bouncing all over the gauge.

I've decided to get a new MECHANICAL dash mount oil pressure gauge but don't like the looks of the autometer needle(will probably end up with it because I can't find anything else). I'm done with the sender baloney.
__________________
Mike --- 1986 CJ7 (mid-year), 258, T5, D30, D44, D300
MY BUILD THREAD --- www.1986jeeprestoration.blogspot.com

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote

Default Re: Oil Gauge wiring 

Old 04-28-2019, 05:16 PM   #17
mtnwhlr is offline
mtnwhlr
Need a Life Jeeper
Lifetime Supporter

Vehicle(s): 84 cj7, 91 cherokee, 78 chevy 3500 pu, 78 CJ7
 
mtnwhlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Frederick colorado
Age: 62
Posts: 6,107
Images: 57
Thanks: 725
Thanked 925 Times in 823 Posts
Rep Power: 14 mtnwhlr is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdeluca View Post

I've decided to get a new MECHANICAL dash mount oil pressure gauge but don't like the looks of the autometer needle(will probably end up with it because I can't find anything else). I'm done with the sender baloney.
I put a Sunpro in mine that I got from one of the part stores.
__________________
your not having fun until they dial 911

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mtnwhlr For This Useful Post:
mdeluca (04-28-2019)

Default Re: Oil Gauge wiring 

Old 05-19-2019, 09:27 AM   #18
Tectron is offline
Tectron
Jeeper
Gold Supporter

Vehicle(s): 1980 CJ7, T176 Trans, 304 CID, 300 tc, Summit HEI Dist, Edelbrock intake, carb and cam, stock diffs 4.56 gears with Front and rear lockrites, Family Cage, 15x10x12.5 BFG MT's, 4" lift.
 
Tectron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Heber, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 209
Images: 4
Thanks: 45
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1 Tectron is on a distinguished road
Good news, Oil Gauge works, so nice knowing my engine is pumping oil
__________________
For a Free Jeep this thing is costing me a small Fortune

 

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
gauge , oil , wiring


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp gauge wiring Tectron Chassis and Body 34 05-19-2019 09:24 AM
RPM Gauge Wiring ThisGuyUKnow Chassis and Body 4 12-21-2013 10:23 AM
Fuel gauge and Temp gauge still dont work? peterb Misc CJ Discussion 18 06-07-2013 04:10 PM
Oil Pressure Gauge Wiring bntcrkfrm Misc CJ Discussion 4 05-04-2012 09:10 PM
Wiring q's for the wiring masters w/pics 78cj5 Chassis and Body 10 11-01-2009 09:00 PM


Vote for Jeep-CJ.com