Default Alternator Not Charging Battery 

Old 05-28-2014, 01:51 PM   #1
MaineMan87
New Jeeper
Vehicle(s): 1974 CJ5: 304, 3 spd

After two months of ownership and picking away at some punch list repairs, I was anxious to take my 74 304 CJ5 out this past weekend. I hopped in, turned the key, and nothing. It was clear that the battery was dead, but I didn't think of anything of it, since it had sat all winter before I bought it and another two months after I bought it. I put a charge on it and would try it the following day. It started up with no problems, for about 5 or 6 starts, but then the battery died again. The previous owner installed a new alternator before I bought it, but I was beginning to question if he hooked it up properly. I am not an expert mechanic, and electrical is probably my weakest link, but I quickly noticed that one of the wires coming off the plug of the alterrnator was cut and not hooked to anything. It looks to be a GM style alternator with an internal regulator. There is a 2-wire plug with a red wire and a black wire. The red wire is hooked into the positive lead on my battery, but the black wire goes nowhere. Where should this be connected? I picked up a new battery and solenoid, for peace of mind, but I'd like to get this alternator issue figured out before I throw the new battery in.

Also, while under the hood, I noticed that there is a purple wire that is also disconnected. According to the FSM, this should be hooked to the oil sending unit, is that correct?

Thank you,
Andrew

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Stumble this Post!

Register for a free membership and remove this add!
Vote for Jeep-CJ.com daily!
Vote for Jeep-CJ.com

Default Re: Alternator Not Charging Battery 

Old 05-28-2014, 02:42 PM   #2
Torxhead
Sr Respected Jeeper
Vehicle(s): '86 CJ,258,T-18,4:1,Dana 44s