Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1982 CJ5
4.2L i6 258
T-176
Dana 300
AMC 20 rear and Dana 30 front
Sorry for what might be a stupid question but I'm a newbie and trying to learn about all the tricks of the trade.
I assume that tie rod flip means putting them on top instead underneath. Mine or underneath but I see pics with them on top. Why would you do that? Advantages? Disadvantages?

The main reason is to reduce bump steer. If the angle of the drag link (connects the pitman arm to the steering knuckle) is too severe, it can cause bump steer. Basically as the suspension compresses the drag link moves through an arc. If the angle is steep to begin with, when your suspension compresses the drag link pushes the knuckle outward inducing a steering affect. When the drag link is closer to parallel this affect is minimized. The flip kit helps to reduce this angle.

The other reason is simply ground clearance. Tie rods and drag links are pretty vulnerable and a flip kit will gain you an extra couple inches.

Why would you do that? Advantages? Disadvantages?
Gets them higher so they will clear rocks/roots/etc. Also can ease the drag link angle a bit. There are different methods to mounting them on the top, each has it's advantages and expenses.

The main reason is to reduce bump steer. If the angle of the drag link (connects the pitman arm to the steering knuckle) is too severe, it can cause bump steer. Basically as the suspension compresses the drag link moves through an arc. If the angle is steep to begin with, when your suspension compresses the drag link pushes the knuckle outward inducing a steering affect. When the drag link is closer to parallel this affect is minimized. The flip kit helps to reduce this angle.

The other reason is simply ground clearance. Tie rods and drag links are pretty vulnerable and a flip kit will gain you an extra couple inches.

So a flip is not really necessary if it is driven mainly (75%) on the road? Or is it just a good thing have all the time?