Trans Noisy T150 under load only

Trans Noisy T150 under load only

Trever

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'78 CJ5, 258 30over, T150, D30 front, AMC20 rear, Sniper EFI, 4.88 gears, Detroit Locker in front, OX locker in rear, 33" tires, beadlocks
Owned my '78 CJ5 since 2007. I have rebuilt my T-150 before (rebuild master kit). She has been a garage queen for the last 8 years, since moving to FL from TN. Trans has been pretty loud for a long time. However, I think I have narrowed the noise down to while under load. When I let off the gas (still in gear), it goes quiet. I just pull the T-150 all apart, but don't see any signs of an issue (I am just a backyard mechanic). I modified the transfer case some years ago as well and put the terra-low, low range kit in it (so I guess the noise could be from the transfer case). Does anyone know what I should look for in the T-150 that would make noise under load, but not while coasting? BTW (I going to install another rebuild kit in the T-150, although everything looks/feels good). I'm also replacing all the clutch components, but I don't suspect the noise is from this area, but I could be wrong.

:welcome:

Just backyard mechanic huh? If you installed a terra-low and rebuilt the T-150 you got some skills... :chug:

Do you have the same issue in 4H? I would closely inspect the bearings and the back side of the gears. Does this happen in all three gears?

:welcome:

Just backyard mechanic huh? If you installed a terra-low and rebuilt the T-150 you got some skills... :chug:

Do you have the same issue in 4H? I would closely inspect the bearings and the back side of the gears. Does this happen in all three gears?
I never put it in 4H. Yes, it's noisy in all 3 gears.

I never put it in 4H. Yes, it's noisy in all 3 gears.