Cj5 with 5.3L rear driveshaft?

Cj5 with 5.3L rear driveshaft?

Dexter904

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1976 CJ5 5.3L V8 3 Speed 3.73 gears 33” BFG
Hello all,

I’m new to this and looking into my first CJ. Someone is selling a new build 1976 CJ5 frame with a SS Monte Carlo 5.3L in it. The Jeep has 33” BFG’s on it, a 3 speed manual, and eventually a 4” lift on it. 3.73 gears.

My question: what’s my best move for a rear driveshaft (front driveshaft is in) but not rear)? Hard to find a good fit? Easy? Get a custom one? What kind of costs might I be looking at. Thanks for the support.

Short Answer: Tom Woods. Check out his website. I run front/rear TW driveshafts on my 76 CJ5.

Longish answer: Unless you plan on stuffing the 33's (heavy trails, rock crawling, etc.), I'd run a smaller lift. 2.5-3 inches looks and rides good on a CJ5, IMHO. With any lift, I'd be looking at running a double Carden rear drive shaft, as there isn't a lot of length available in a CJ5 to ease the operating angles. And a 4" lift is going to increase the operating angles.

BTW: Welcome!

Thanks for the prompt response Hack, I might be looking at this build tomorrow. That eases some of my concern. I'm glad you feel that way too because it actually comes with an uninstalled 2" lift that I was considering using.

Also, just through google searching I found Tom Wood's and was leaning that way! So in this case I imagine I would just have to send measurements to them and get a custom one? And it looks like the 2-joint top of the line shaft runs at about $300, which I could live with.

The build is at this link. What do you think about it? Apparently all new parts, with a SS Monte Carlo 5.3L with 60,000 miles. 3 Speed tranny, 33" BFG's, $800 clutch etc. Seems like a reasonable deal but like I said, I'm new to CJ's.

https://maine.craigslist.org/cto/d/76-jeep-cj5-chassy/6542529961.html