258 white smoke, over heating, gas in oil?

258 white smoke, over heating, gas in oil?

badkirk

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'74 CJ5, 258, ?
I bought a CJ5 in an attempt to become more mechanically inclined! This CJ is a bit of a mess w/ an incomplete wiring, no gauges, and unknown other issues but it ran when I purchased it.

Being a novice i have let it sit for a couple years only running it a few times. Recently it started blowing white smoke and overheating after only a few minutes. I suspected a head gasket leak so went to change oil and coolant as this is something i never did when i purchased it. I suspected to see coolant in the oil but when i pulled the oil plug I learned that the oil had a lot of gas in it.

I've done some searching and common issues I've seen for gas in oil is short trips, running rich (this is likely because it's always run really rich). Or worn rings - could be this as well due to my lack of changing oil and not knowing gas had mixed.

Before i start diagnosing the root of the issue though i'm wondering if it could be a number of other issues since my motor has no gauges, not certain vacuum hoses are present, temp sensors etc.

I'm looking for advice, as a novice in engine repair would you suggest i first get the wiring/gauges complete to ensure i can diagnose the issues better? I did bring home a compression test kit to check but i'd hate to put oil back in the engine just to have it get ruined again.

Subscribed

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk