Build Thread 1977 CJ5 bring back to life.

Build Thread 1977 CJ5 bring back to life.

Dannyboy76226

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1977 CJ5
Hello all! I just traded a restored 1989 EZGO 36V Marathon for a 1977 CJ5. I am looking forward to working on this CJ. I have always wanted a CJ (I owned 2 JK prior). I work as an Aircraft Mechanic so I have the mechanical know how. Looking forward to showing you all how Jeep ignorant I am. Here are some pictures from the first few days we brought it home.

Attachments

• Jeep1.jpg
    Jeep1.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 33
  • jeep2.jpg
    jeep2.jpg
    101.9 KB · Views: 30
  • jeep3.jpg
    jeep3.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 35
  • jeep4.jpg
    jeep4.jpg
    101 KB · Views: 27
  • jeep5.jpg
    jeep5.jpg
    104 KB · Views: 33
You have your work cut out for ya but looks like you enjoy it.
Love the dash!! Is that an air conditioner compressor?
Welcome to the site, there is a wealth of knowledge on here.

Here's some stripper money for all the hard work. Keep the picts coming.

Attachments

• stripper $.jpg
    stripper $.jpg
    95.9 KB · Views: 7
Welcome Dannyboy. ! You have some work to do to get yours looking nice, but we think you can handle it.

Good trade! From your pictures the PO made some interesting modifications. Make a plan on what you are going to do. That plan should be based on what you want to use the Jeep for. Then stick to that plan. That way you'll get the project done, and not be looking to sell an unfinished project 10 years down the road.

Keep in mind that just because something looks good, doesn't mean it will work good. Slapping some big tires on it without making the right modifications to the axles, gearing, etc. can mean bigger problems down the road. Lot of good information that is searchable on here, or just ask. Good Luck.

Ought to give you something to do in your spare time... I'm 2 years into mine...