Cold Start Woes

Cold Start Woes

kbrew904

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1983 258 Inline 6 Automatic
I know cold start issues have been covered extensively but whenever I search for my specific problem only FI jeeps come up.

Basically, when the jeep starts cold, only after sitting overnight, it will run at high idle like its supposed to for about 5 seconds, then will being to run rough, rpms drop, and feel like its missing. If it dies, it takes a looong time to try and get it started again.Cloud of smoke comes from the exhaust whole time during startup (white and smells like gas) However, after driving around for about 5 minutes and the engine warms up it drives absolutely fine, no more smoke, and will start right back up if its been parked.

Things I have done to attempt to fix with no change:
-Rebuilt stock Carter BBD to factory specs
-Replaced choke and verified its closed when cold and opens when warm
-Did the team rush upgrade with new spark plugs about a year ago

I'm new to this forum but this jeep has been in the family since new and being the young car guy of the family maintenance and repair has been my responsibility for a while now. I've learned a lot and would really appreciate anyone's help in trying to remedy this.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

WELCOME :chug:
Need to adjust the choke's setting.
Sounds like it's 'choking' the engine and not allowing the correct amount of air to enter.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
LG

Once its started you aren't touching the gas pedal are you? If you do the carb will kick off high idle.

....... What is there about these Carter carbs lately, they are beginning to seem like nothing be trouble.

It needs to run on high idle for a lot longer than 5 seconds for it to warm up. Thats not helping at all.

WELCOME :chug:
Need to adjust the choke's setting.