All lights works, except headlights

All lights works, except headlights

cuban11182

Active Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
84 CJ7: 258, T5, Dana 300, Holley 390, Nutter Bypass.
So I'm VERY new to the Jeep and CJ scene. I noticed that every once in a while the headlights wouldn't work. I had a new switch from the PO and I put her in thinking the old switch was the culprit. I'm still not getting headlights. I have parking and fogs, but no headlights. I pulled the switch and tested with a meter and when I pull it all the way out 12V is sent to the headlight circuit in the Jeep, but it doesn't reach the headlights. Am I missing something obvious?

Do a continuity check of the headlight wiring from the light plugs back to the firewall. On mine, the ground wire for the right headlight, had corroded inside the insulation and turned to green powder. Just because the insulation looks good, is no indication that the wire inside is.

Thanks for the advice. The Jeep is in REALLY great shape compared to others I've seen. That was my first direction after making the post (I hear the grounds can be notorious). In any case it was my high beam button on the floor. I normally put the ebrake on in my Titan, so it's natural to do the same to the jeep. I guess I hit the button plug and it wouldn't finish the circuit. I'm going to look for a way to bypass that switch all together.

Thanks again though.

Hey, don't bypass the dimmer switch. Just get a new one and replace the problem one. While you're at it why don't you consider Jimbos headlight relay harness upgrade? I installed it in my CJ and consider it to be the best upgrade I've ever installed. My dimmer switch was in need of replacing until after I installed the relay harness. Haven't had a problem with it since I installed the upgrade. Do a search for "headlight harness upgrade" and you'll find the posts about it.