Build Thread '79 CJ7 Frame Off Restoration

Build Thread '79 CJ7 Frame Off Restoration

jdcxyz

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'79 CJ7 AMC 304, '70 Chevelle SS 454
Hi there folks, newbie here. Just wanted to share a very fun and challenging project I've taken on....

Purchased my first CJ this past September, I've wanted one for over 30 years! She was in decent shape, good frame, good mechanically, needed LOTS of cosmetic work, and the tub was shot. I've never restored ANY type of vehicle before and have never built an engine. I'm a woodworker, handyman, and a tinkerer. I can fix pretty much anything and have more tools than I know what to do with, but this was new territory for me! So I tore this old beauty apart, and have been pleased with my progress so far. Have taught myself to weld, and even forced myself to do bodywork. Got myself a sandblaster and it has been a lifesaver! Even got my cute little girlfriend in on this project. I'm sure I'll encounter problems as this progresses, but I am having a blast and am looking forward to getting this old girl on the road.

Next step is topcoat and clearcoat. Then the tub goes on and the wiring begins. Easy part is over!

More to follow!

Attachments

• Picture2.jpg
    Picture2.jpg
    64.2 KB · Views: 187
  • Picture3.jpg
    Picture3.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 129
  • Picture4.jpg
    Picture4.jpg
    68 KB · Views: 186
  • Picture5.jpg
    Picture5.jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 180
  • Picture1.jpg
    Picture1.jpg
    95.3 KB · Views: 372
Some more pics

Attachments

• Picture6.jpg
    Picture6.jpg
    93 KB · Views: 139
  • Picture7.jpg
    Picture7.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 231
  • Picture8.jpg
    Picture8.jpg
    55.2 KB · Views: 325
  • Picture9.jpg
    Picture9.jpg
    66.9 KB · Views: 229
  • Picture10.jpg
    Picture10.jpg
    97.3 KB · Views: 238
aw man thats sweet bring on the Jeep pictures

I love those wheels. I have been going back and forth about keeping the stock wagon wheels or going with something like those.